Did you know that there are certain rules and regulations when it comes to moving a mobile home? It is important to be aware of the age limit for this type of move.
The age limit for moving a mobile home is governed by the weight of the trailer. The general rule of thumb is that you can’t move a trailer if it weighs over 1 ton.
There are some exceptions to this rule, but it’s important to be aware of this before making any plans to move your mobile home.
If your trailer or park model was built after 1978, then you can legally transport it anywhere in the United States without having to register with any state authorities. However, if your trailer or park model was built before 1978, you must register that vehicle as an antique before transporting it across state lines.
Table of Contents
What Is Age Limit On Moving A Mobile Home?
The Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) seems to agree that trailers and other forms of mobile homes should not be moved if they weigh more than 1 ton, but it’s ultimately up to the state authorities as to whether or not you can move them across state lines.
Some states (like New Mexico and Vermont) require even older manufactured homes to be registered before they’re allowed on public roads.
Why is this?
We’ve seen reports from our customers about moving large park models which are over 40 years old with no problems whatsoever, but you must understand that some state laws have been broken when doing so.
For example, In most cases, it would be illegal for a home built before 1978 to be registered as a recreational vehicle, which is required if you plan on driving it across state lines.
Is there a list of states that have these laws?
Every state has slightly different rules and regulations regarding the age limit for moving a mobile home.
Some states require registration no matter what, but most will let an over-40-year-old camper or park model be driven with a current registration card – even if it isn’t registered as an RV.
We’ve found that New Mexico requires older mobile homes to pass inspection before they can legally be driven on public roads.
As for Vermont, we’ve seen claims from some customers who say they moved park models there without any problems whatsoever, but other than that we don’t have much to go on.
Can moving a mobile home be dangerous?
Moving an older manufactured home can potentially be very dangerous for the driver, as well as for pedestrians and other motorists.
If your trailer or park model weighs over 1 ton, then it should not legally be moved across state lines without being registered as an RV first.
It’s also possible that the age limit might vary by which state you’re trying to move into, so always check with local authorities before making any plans – especially if you’ve managed to acquire one of these older models.
However, moving an older park model without the proper registration might be dangerous for several reasons – including pedestrians and other motorists.
Can I get a permanent plate for my park model?
If so, what do I need?
Assuming that your current state allows the registration of non-recreational vehicles over 40 years old and that moving your vehicle will not violate any age laws according to your state, you should be able to get a permanent registration plate for your park model.
The DMV (Department of Motor Vehicles) will ask for documentation proving that it’s safe enough to drive on roads and that it’s not more than 40 years old.
Some states may also ask you what type of fuel you’ll be using to calculate the required tax bracket upon registering your vehicle, so it might be beneficial to check with an accountant or the DMV before making any plans.
When you receive this permanent registration plate, keep in mind that moving the vehicle again will require another visit to the DMV along with some standard safety documentation.
How much does it cost to move a 14×70 mobile home?
Unfortunately, there’s too much variation in how much it costs to move a mobile home to give an exact number.
For example, the size of your home will have a huge impact on how much it costs.
Additionally, many other factors are involved, including the type of hitch you’re using and if there are any restrictions against large vehicles being brought into your city or state.
Related Article: How To Remove A Mobile Home And How Much It Costs?
How easy is it to move a mobile home?
In most cases, it should be fairly easy to move a mobile home as long as you have the right equipment for the job. Typically, an automatic levelling system or 4-wheel dollies are required to move larger park models.
Once everything is properly hooked up, you should be able to use your mobile home’s standard electricity connection to operate some basic functions on its exterior.
For example, some park models let you raise and lower the landing gear while driving them using this option. As always, make sure that your mobile home has been inspected before moving it – even if its age doesn’t trouble local ordinances.
The last thing you want during what should otherwise be a smooth process of moving into a new home is for something to go wrong. For more information about moving a mobile home, check out our article here:
Am I able to move my park model?
To begin the process of registering your manufactured or mobile home as an RV, you should contact your local motor vehicle department and ask them if they issue permanent plates.
Once you’ve gained approval and have all of the proper paperwork and safety documentation in hand, you can bring it down to register your vehicle with them according to ARVC regulations.
This should be fairly straightforward as long as everything was filled out properly – but don’t expect any money back even if they charge fees that aren’t regulated by law.
In the United States, there is no age limit on moving a mobile home. However, some states do have restrictions about how many times you can move it in a year and other rules that may apply to your specific situation.
Be sure to check with your state laws before making any decisions so you don’t end up incurring fines or facing legal repercussions for violating them.